Board of Education

  • The Rush-Henrietta Central School District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education elected by the registered voters of the district. Members are volunteer public officials who serve, without pay, for three-year terms. As elected representatives of district residents and as officers of the state of New York, board members must carry out duties required by the state Legislature, the Board of Regents, and the state Commissioner of Education. The board establishes policies for the operation of the district and the superintendent of schools carries out these policies.

    Letters to and questions about the Board of Education can be addressed to Cheryl Castronovo, school district clerk, at 2034 Lehigh Station Road, Henrietta, NY 14467. The school district clerk also can be reached by phone at (585) 359-5010 or by e-mail at

    VISION: The Rush-Henrietta Board of Education, along with the Superintendent of Schools, shall have a shared vision of success for increased student achievement, and create/modify board policies that enable the district to achieve that vision. The board shall be knowledgeable of, and effective in, utilizing board policies, education law, education standards, legislative issues and R-H curriculum basics in achieving that vision. The board shall have clearly defined its role and the role of the superintendent in district oversight and management. The board shall be open to community input and communicate effectively with the community, the district administration, and among its own members. The board shall be effective in using its time and resources in carrying out its responsibilities in an exemplary manner.